The mural, installed in Smithfield's Post Office in 1941 was created by artist William Abbott Cheever, and depicts Captain John Smith and his men trading with the Warraskoyack Tribe in Burwell's Bay on the James River in September of 1607. The mural was painted during the New Deal era, when President Franklin D. Roosevelt was trying to stimulate the economy with his Work Projects Administration, which provided work for people following the Great Depression. It was not a Work Projects Administration project, however. The mural was restored in 2009 with funds made possible by volunteers in the community.
Located in the 200 block of Main Street in downtown Smithfield and running between Main and Grace Streets, Hayden's Lane was originally the driveway to Hayden Hall, an early girls' school. The garden department of the Woman's Club of Smithfield and the town created a lovely sitting garden and walkway to relax and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. Several benches, hand-painted by local young artists grace the walkway. Hayden's Lane is available to rent for special events through the Smithfield Center.
Antique art and accessories, from Victorian to vintage. Shop hand-picked originals including oil paintings (most from around the 1880's to 1920's), estate jewelry, sterling silver jewelry, sterling silver flatware, cut glass and crystal plus collectible figurines.
Smithfield is proud to boast the country’s largest collection of bronze statues by acclaimed sculptor George Lundeen. Donated to the Town by former Smithfield Foods CEO, Joe Luter III, these striking art pieces add to the cultural ambiance of the Arts and Cultural District of historic downtown Smithfield.
Imagine Art est. in 1991 is a gallery located in a 1880's home features 2,200 square feet of original art, prints, bronzes and much more. Also offering custom framing in-house. Imagine Art is a locally owned and operated gallery and is open 7 days a week.
Smithfield is proud to present eight life-size statues of market hogs, painted by local artists to reflect an aspect of the town’s rich history, culture & recreation. Created through a public/private partnership between Smithfield & Isle of Wight Tourism, Smithfield 2020 and the Isle of Wight Arts League, the “Porcine Parade” celebrates the best-known symbol of the “Ham Capital of the World” to memorialize the agricultural roots and cultural history of the Town of Smithfield. Donated by generous sponsors and selected by a jury of the Isle of Wight Arts League, these unique statues became permanent residents in June 2012. We invite you to stroll through our lovely town to savor each work of art. Pick up a map and brochure at the Visitor Center located at 319 Main Street.
This all volunteer theater troupe has been "hamming it up for over 75 years!" Originally known as the Cotton Gin Theater (it's old building was previously a cotton gin), this regional community theater now boasts a million dollar facility generously donated in 2001 by Smithfield Foods. Three professional-level shows are produced annually along with other special events such as a Holiday performance in December, a children's theater workshop in the summer and more. Season tickets are available as well as tickets to individual performances. Contact the theater or visit the website for performance schedule and ticket information.
In the spring of 2017, Smithfield & Isle of Wight Tourism sponsored a contest for the creation of our very own LOVEwork. The winning designer, Meagan Pugh, describes her design: “Inspired by what we are best known for…Ham, well Bacon, I envision our LOVEwork to be in the “pop art” vein and interactive. Visitors can take photos their friends and family “taking a big bite” out of a slice of bacon (while taking a big bite out of all there is to do in Smithfield). We might even be the world’s largest bacon statue!” Share your images with us using #smithfieldlove.